Over the course of 15 years, OPENspace has established a thriving, multi-disciplinary team of researchers, advisors and support professionals with a diverse knowledge and skills base and a commitment to collaborative working.

The OS team at the AHRC Research in Film Awards 2018 (Image courtesy of Jo Thompson)


Our Directors are:

  • Professor Catharine Ward Thompson
  • Dr Simon Bell

Read more about our Directors

Research Fellows and Associates

Our Research Fellows are:

  • Dr Caroline Pearce
  • Dr Charlotte Wendelboe-Nelson
  • Dr Sara Tilley
  • Dr Scott Ogletree
  • Professor Jenny Roe (Honorary)

Our Associates are:

  • Professor Emeritus Peter Aspinall

Read more about our Research Fellows and Associates

Professional Support 

OPENspace Research Centre Officer:

  • Nicole Porter

Research Centres Support Assistant:

  • Roxanne Wong

Read more about our Professional Support team

Partners and Clients

We are grateful to the extended OPENspace community – drawn from the public, not-for-profit and commercial sectors – for the support they provide as both funders of, and partners to, our research, including our Advisory Group members:

  • Leslie Forsyth (Edinburgh College of Art, retired)
  • Patrik Grahn (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
  • Peter Ingram-Monk (Scottish Disability Equality Forum)
  • Robin Moore (Natural Learning Initiative)
  • Julie Procter (Greenspace Scotland)
  • Alan Rees (International Play Association, retired)
  • Marcus Sangster (Forestry Commission Scotland, retired)

Browse a full list of OPENspace research partners and clients

We are also grateful to the many other research centres throughout Scotland, the UK and beyond with whom we collaborate, and to the following former members of our team who have contributed to our success over the last 15 years:

  • Dr Susana Alves (Research Associate)
  • Dr Katherine Brookfield (Research Fellow)
  • Dr Angela Curl (Research Associate)
  • Dr Catherine Findlay (Research Fellow)
  • Dr Catherine Millington (Research Associate)
  • Dr Nina Morris (Research Associate)
  • Dr Agnès Patuano (Research Assistant)  
  • Dr Eva Silveirinha de Oliveira (Research Fellow)
  • Dr Katherine Southwell (Research Fellow)
  • Dr Takemi Sugiyama (Research Associate)
  • Dr Affonso Zuin (Research Associate)

> Take me back to the homepage